Preparations commence for the Referendum Voter Roll

BUKA – The Bougainville Referendum Commission (BRC) is partnering with the Department of Community Government to ensure that all eligible electors are enrolled to vote in the referendum.

It is our priority that all eligible electors are included on the Referendum Voter Roll,” said Commissioner George Manu, co-chair at the BRC-TC. “Through our partnership with the Department of Community Government, we are ensuring that all eligible electors are able to participate in this democratic process.

The Referendum Voter Roll will be developed through a three-phased process. In the first phase, community governments will verify the 2015 ABG electoral rolls against Ward Voter Registries.

Phase One of the enrolment process is almost complete,” said Commissioner Patilias Gamato, co-chair at the BRCTC. “After that, Ward Recorders will go door to door to ensure that all eligible electors verify their enrolment details and to enroll new voters for their voting districts.

During the second phase, eligible electors who are not able to locate their names on the Working Roll, or who have not previously enrolled, must complete a Claim for Enrolment or Transfer form.

The third phase of enrolment will be the public display and verification of the Preliminary Referendum Roll. The BRC will communicate when Phase Two and Phase Three will be launched at a later stage.

To be included on the Referendum Voter Roll, an elector must be eligible to vote in national elections in Bougainville, and have been resident in a voting district in Bougainville for a period of not less than 6 months.

Separate initiatives will be undertaken to enroll non-resident  Bougainvilleans and to enable their participation in the referendum.

The Bougainville Referendum Commission (BRC) is the independent commission established by both the national and Bougainville governments to conduct the Bougainville referendum. The BRC and referendum processes are guided by the PNG Constitution,Bougainville Constitution, Organic Law on Peace Building in Bougainville, the Bougainville Peace Agreement and the BRC Charter.

Before the Commission is fully appointed, the BRC is governed by a four-member Transitional Committee (BRCTC) invested with full powers, consisting of the national and Bougainville chief-secretaries and the national and Bougainville electoral commissioners.

The BRC is founded on principles of neutrality, impartiality, transparency, professionalism, inclusivity.